top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMikiko Coakley

Meeting Up with My Virtual Teacher and Classmates in Nashville



I got the chance to travel to Nashville with my parents over spring break this year, and though it was intended to be a sports centered trip, we incidentally found ourselves within walking distance of the school from which one of my classes is taught online: University School of Nashville. This wonderful opportunity occurred to me a couple days before we departed for Nashville, and I was able to initiate some email conversations to set up a meeting. On Friday, I went to the school and met my teacher, Dr. Wheeler, and one of my classmates, Jessy, in the lobby. The name of the class is ‘It is Better to Speak: 100 Years of Women Writing for Change.’ We were able to discuss topics related to the class and I brought up some outside reading I’d been doing related to Women’s literature. They showed me around their fantastic and expansive school, and I was able to see the room from which they zoomed in to class. Then, we went to a nearby Panera together and had lunch. We had a blast together and had some of the most engaging and exciting conversations I’d had in a while. The trip and speaking with them in person was very affirming and made me even more excited to continue my journey in gender studies.

0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page